District Honors 2019 Teachers of the Year

The annual staff and teacher appreciation banquet, held on May 16, honored the campuses Teachers of the Year, the Paraprofessionals of the Year and the Rookie Teachers of the Year.
The district also honored an Elementary and Secondary Rookies of the Year, someone who is new to the teacher profession and has three years or less teaching experience in public education. Mary Chase from Williams Elementary and Adrianna Loftin from Magnolia West High were named as this year’s winners. Thank you to our title sponsor Magnolia Education Foundation for giving each winner a $500 grant for their classroom.
The district also honored each paraprofessional nominee from each campus naming Jennylin Story from Smith Elementary as the Paraprofessional of the Year.
Members of the community and business leaders honored the nominees and winners in gifts totaling $20,000. This year’s $1,000 Crown Sponsors included the Magnolia Education Foundation, America’s ER, Balfour, Chick-fil-A Magnolia, HEB Magnolia, PBK, Perdue Brandon Attorneys, Commissioner Charlie Riley, Woodforest and Child and Family Eye Care.
The $500 Diamond Sponsors included B&C Constructors, SSR Letter Jackets, Post Oak Municipal Advisors, First Financial Group of America, Walsh Gallegos, Greater Magnolia Parkway Chamber of Commerce, Creative Risk Funding, 5Point Credit Union, Anco Insurance, Constable Chris Jones, LTY Engineers, The Oilerie The Woodlands, and Intex Flooring.

Teachers of the Year Nominees:
Bear Branch Intermediate   Elizabeth Medford
Magnolia Intermediate   Delfina Garcia
Bear Branch Junior High   Mandy Beuerhausen
Magnolia Junior High   Jacy Armstrong
ALPHA Academy   Angela Lorio
DAEP   Eva Gatlin
Magnolia High School   Bob Medina
Magnolia West High School Meredith Arterburn (Secondary Teacher of the Year)
Bear Branch Elementary   Loren Frenzel
Ellisor Elementary   Victoria Macicek (Elementary Teacher of the Year)
Lyon Elementary   Melanie Hinman
Magnolia Elementary   Amy Rightmer
Magnolia Parkway Elementary   Stephanie Cullar
Nichols Sawmill Elementary   Caitlin Stearns
Smith Elementary   Katie Mitchell
Williams Elementary   Fabiana Bryant
Rookies of the Year Nominees:
Bear Branch Elementary   Miranda Mattern
Ellisor Elementary   Audrey Taylor
Lyon Elementary   Karel Duran
Magnolia Elementary   Heather Chambers
Magnolia Parkway Elementary   Jennifer Beckman
Nichols Sawmill Elementary   Gaby Porter
Smith Elementary   Amy Cruse
Williams Elementary   Mary Chase (Elementary Rookie of the Year)
Bear Branch Intermediate   Tana Horn
Magnolia Intermediate   Marisol Briones
Bear Branch Junior High   Blake Feder
Magnolia Junior High   Kodi Keith
Magnolia High School   Lexi Cyprus
Magnolia West High School   Adrianna Lofti (Secondary Rookie of the Year)

Paraprofessionals of the Year Nominees:
Bear Branch Elementary   Patty Hutcherson
Ellisor Elementary   Mary Christmas
Lyon Elementary   Donna Patton
Magnolia Elementary   Christine Joyce
Magnolia Parkway Elementary   Laura Ortiz
Nichols Sawmill Elementary   Jen Mullens
Smith Elementary   Jennylin Story (Para of the Year)
Williams Elementary   Olga Gil
Bear Branch Intermediate   Jennifer Daniel
Magnolia Intermediate   Kim Todd
Bear Branch Junior High   Leah Still
Magnolia Junior High   Roxana Martinez Bergeron
Magnolia High School   Amy Barton
Magnolia West High School   Tonya Arnold
Alpha Academy   Janice Brubaker
DAEP   Nancy Bulla

All photos by Kenneth Taunton