Magnolia High School Hosts 8th Annual UIL Academic Meet

The winning tradition continues for the Magnolia High UIL Academic team as they were awarded the 1st place trophy at the meet with 24 students placing in point positions. Receiving gold medal were: Sarah Hubble – Accounting, Jordan Goff - Editorial Writing, Laila Espinoza - Computer Applications, Marcus Sloan - Informative Speaking, Ethan Eyre - LD Debate, Marcus Sloan – Prose, Gabe Frohaug – Physics, the Speech Team and the Accounting Team: Sarah Hubble, Jacob Sass, Luke Hittler & Shelby Corolla. Silver medals were awarded to: Madison Welch - Feature Writing, Ethan Eyre - Informative Speaking, and Cameron Wilson - LD Debate. The Journalism team was awarded a 2nd place title. Bronze medals were received by: Cameron Wilson – Informative Speaking, Maryann Powers – Persuasive Speaking and Brelynn Mellen – Prose. 4th place ribbons were received by Jacob Sass – Accounting and Jaymie Gagliano – Persuasive Speaking; 5th place ribbons went to: Ryan Schulze – Current Issues & Events. Lexi Hulsey – Headline Writing, Tabitha James – Ready Writing, Carol Pettijohn – Literary Criticism, Stephen Webb – Informative Speaking and Jaymie Gagliano – Poetry; and 6th place ribbons went to: Luke Hittler – Accounting and Jordan Goff – News Writing. These students are to be commended for these honors as they were competing against students not only in 5A but also 6A conferences.

This is the second time Magnolia High School has won the team trophy this year – winning at the Willis meet early in January. The team will compete again at A&M Consolidated and Klein High as they continue their drive toward the district meet to be held April 1 & 2. The school is blessed to have many devoted academic coaches willing to give of their time after school to practice with these students and on weekends to travel with these students to compete in the meets. It is definitely a team effort with results that are phenomenal! The Magnolia High School UIL Academic team is working hard to defend their District Champion title earned in 2014-2015 and 2015-2016.