Magnolia ISD Honors the 2017 Teachers of the Year

The Elementary Teacher of the Year, Mrs. Foglesong, has five years teaching experience with the last four in Magnolia ISD teaching Math and Science. She is the 5th grade team leader, new teacher mentor and student council sponsor for Williams Elementary. She states, “My goal is to connect and make the difference in a student’s life. Having a student make an A or pass the STAAR test is wonderful, but having a student grow and believe in themselves because of the trust and love you have in them is priceless.”

Our Secondary Teacher of the Year, Ms. Riley, teaches Advanced Placement and IB advanced literature, serves as the department chair and has been teaching for 16 years for the district. She states, “It is truly an honor to be recognized by the district. I am here because I enjoy teaching our students, and I want to teach them how to be successful in our ever-changing world and accept nothing but their best. When they fall short, I am there to pick them up and start again.”

New this year, the district honored an Elementary and Secondary Rookies of the Year, someone who is new to the teacher profession and has three years or less teaching experience in public education. Abigail Jones from Magnolia West High and Dana Tanner from Lyon Elementary were named as this year’s winners. Thank you to our title sponsors Rose Realty and Perdue Brandon Fielder Collins and Mott, LLC for supporting our winners with by each giving a $500 gift.

The district also honored each paraprofessional nominee from each campus naming Jackie Hobbs from Magnolia Elementary as the Paraprofessional of the Year.

Superintendent Dr. Todd Stephens, “This is one of my favorite events of the year. We have the opportunity to recognize all of the work our teachers do for our kids in front of our board, elected officials and our community. It is evident the Magnolia community values the work of our teachers and it shows through their generous donations to our nominees and winners.”

Members of the community and business leaders honored the nominees and winners in gifts totaling $15,000. Local businesses showed their support through various cash prizes and gift cards. Gifts included gift cards, Maui Jim sunglasses courtesy of Child & Family Eye Care, Kendra Scott jewelry, gift baskets, shopping packages and a package at The Woodlands Waterway Marriott including a spa package and overnight stay.

Chick-fil-A of Magnolia presented each winner with a cooler stuffed with a gift certificate, and a large plush animal of the infamous cow. Owner and operator Kendrick Skipper also provided gift cards to all the teachers attending the banquet.

Local businesses included the Gullo Ford Family, America’s ER, Action Communications, 5Point Credit Union, B&C Constructors, HEB, Barnes & Noble of The Woodlands, State Representative Cecil Bell, SSR Jackets, Commissioner Charlie Riley, Constable David Hill, Herff Jones, Magnolia Pharmacy, The Oilerie, Office Depot, Texas Renaissance Festival, Ricoh USA, EPI, TCG Benefits, Creative Risk Funding, Tomball Sports Medicine, YU Engineers, Walsh Gallegos, Woodforest Bank, Anco Insurance, PBK Architects, Hill Top Securities, Rose Realty, Jewelry and Fashion, Under Armour, and Stewart Builders.

Teachers of the Year Nominees:
Bear Branch Elementary: Melissa Summerford
Ellisor Elementary: Laura Sanders
Lyon Elementary: Veronica Garza
Magnolia Elementary: Karen Tran
Magnolia Parkway Elementary: Lea Thompson
Nichols Sawmill Elementary: Stacy Fikac
Smith Elementary: Amanda Darragh
Williams Elementary: Natashia Foglesong
Bear Branch 6th Grade: Melinda Purdy
Magnolia 6th Grade: Ashley Kempf
Bear Branch Junior High: Jayna Ferguson
Magnolia Junior High: Amanda Dunn
ALPHA Academy: Dana Dean
DAEP: Tanya Tarvin
Magnolia High School: Annette Bopp
Magnolia West High School: Nicole Riley

Rookies of the Year Nominees:
Bear Branch Elementary: Chellie Nelson
Ellisor Elementary: Terriann Commesso
Lyon Elementary: Dana Tanner
Magnolia Elementary: Rachel Adams
Magnolia Parkway Elementary: Dawn Garcia
Nichols Sawmill Elementary: Val Engelke
Smith Elementary: Casey Webb
Williams Elementary: Debra Kurten
Bear Branch 6th Grade: Lacy Jones
Magnolia 6th Grade: Megan Stowe
Bear Branch Junior High: Janelle Collins
Magnolia Junior High: Lauren Jirrels
ALPHA Academy: Luis Jackson
Magnolia High School: Brian Sides
Magnolia West High School: Abby Jones

Paraprofessionals of the Year Nominees:
Bear Branch Elementary: Donice Farrell
Ellisor Elementary: Anna Elmore
Lyon Elementary: Petra Lopez
Magnolia Elementary: Jackie Hobbs
Magnolia Parkway Elementary: Russell Ridge
Nichols Sawmill Elementary: Sarah Tope
Smith Elementary: Cassandra Buchanan
Williams Elementary: Stephanie Baty
Bear Branch 6th Grade: Irais Hays
Magnolia 6th Grade: Rosalie Salazar
Bear Branch Junior High: Angela Bowman
Magnolia Junior High: Claudia Leal
ALPHA Academy: Gay Bostick
Magnolia High School: Tarra Tidwell
Magnolia West High School: Carrie John

All photos by Kenneth Taunton