Skip To Main Content
2024 Teachers of the Year
Kate Hope


At the district's Employees of the Year celebration, Magnolia Intermediate Reading and Language Arts teacher Marisol Briones and Magnolia Parkway Elementary first grade teacher Cristina Gossett were named Secondary and Elementary Teachers of the Year. 

The annual event on May 9 honored the 15 campuses' Teachers of the Year, Paraprofessionals of the Year, and Rookie Teachers of the Year. 

“We have amazing educators here in Magnolia, and recognizing our teachers and staff at this banquet is always an honor. This is always a great time to recognize their dedication to the profession and for the excellent work in education,” stated Dr. Jason Bullock, Lone Finalist and Deputy Superintendent.  

With six years of educational experience, Briones was the Magnolia ISD Paraprofessional of the Year (2009) and Rookie of the Year (2019). She serves as the advisor of the Magnolia Intermediate Student Council, a role through which she has garnered numerous awards in recognition of her contributions to student leadership and school culture. 

Gossett has 17 years of teaching experience. She has taught first grade at Magnolia Parkway Elementary for the past two years and serves as an Operational Team Facilitator.  

The district also honored Elementary and Secondary Rookies of the Year, employees with three years or less of teaching experience in public education. Taylor Neal from Lyon Elementary and Whittney Bednarz from Bear Branch Intermediate were named this year’s winners.

 Thank you to the Magnolia Education Foundation for awarding each Rookie of the Year winner a $500 grant for their classroom.

The district also honored paraprofessional nominees from each campus, naming Misti Sak from Nichols Sawmill Elementary as the district’s Paraprofessional of the Year.

Community members and business leaders honored the nominees and winners with gifts totaling over $15,000. This year’s $1,000 Diamond Sponsors included Colton by Airia Development, Commissioner Charlie Riley, H-E-B Magnolia, Houston Methodist Willowbrook Hospital, LTY Engineers, the Magnolia Education Foundation, Stewart Builders, and Woodforest National Bank.

The $500 Platinum Sponsors included 5 Point Credit Union, B&C Constructors, Canon, Chick-Fil-A Magnolia, Consolidated Property Advisors, Greater Magnolia Parkway Chamber of Commerce, Indeco, PBK Architects, Perdue Brandon Attorneys at Law, and Whataburger.

2024 District Employees of the Year