Skip To Main Content
2023 MISD Employees of the Year
Kate Hope

Magnolia High School math teacher Michella Seelye and Bear Branch Elementary reading interventionist Kelly Hollier were named Secondary and Elementary Teachers of the Year at the district’s Employees of the Year banquet. 

The annual staff banquet on May 11 honored the 15 campuses' Teachers of the Year, Paraprofessionals of the Year, and Rookie Teachers of the Year. 

Seelye has been with Magnolia ISD for two years and has four years of educational experience. She began working as an attendance clerk at Bear Branch Jr. High before earning her Alternative Teacher Certification in 2019. Hollier has been a reading interventionist at Bear Branch Elementary for two years. She has served in several capacities over the course of her 22 years in education, including classroom teacher, Special Olympics coach, instructional specialist, and assistant principal. They will both represent Magnolia ISD in the Region 6 Teacher of the Year selection process held in August. 

The district also honored Elementary and Secondary Rookies of the Year; employees with three years or less of teaching experience in public education. Israel Medina from Smith Elementary and Jason Tallent from Bear Branch Jr. High were named this year’s winners. Thank you to the Magnolia Education Foundation for awarding each winner a $500 grant for their classroom.

The district honored paraprofessional nominees from each campus naming Elzy Martinez from Williams Elementary as the district’s Paraprofessional of the Year.

Community members and business leaders honored the nominees and winners with gifts totaling over $15,000. This year’s $1,000 Diamond Sponsors included Audubon, B&C Constructors, Commissioner Charlie Riley, Chick-fil-A Magnolia, Hanigan + Johnson Orthodontics, HEB Magnolia, Houston Methodist Willowbrook Hospital, LTY Engineers, the Magnolia Education Foundation, PBK, and Whataburger.

The $500 Platinum Sponsors included 5 Point Credit Union, Canon, Constable Chris Jones, Epcor, First Financial Group of America, Greater Magnolia Parkway Chamber of Commerce, and Perdue Brandon Attorneys at Law. 

The $250 Gold Sponsors included Magnolia Parkway Storage, SpeedPro, and Stewart Title.

2023 MISD Employees of the Year

Teacher of the Year Nominees:

Bear Branch Elementary     Kelly Hollier (Elementary Teacher of the Year)

Ellisor Elementary               Shannon Rogas 

Lyon Elementary                 Pamela Roecker    

Magnolia Elementary          Amanda Gaston 

Magnolia Parkway Elementary   Salli Ensley

Nichols Sawmill Elementary      Kristin Deitz

Smith Elementary                      Elizabeth Harms 

Williams Elementary                Debra Kurten 

Bear Branch Intermediate  Melinda Bielamowicz 

Magnolia Intermediate        Brooke Cowger

Bear Branch Junior High      Cherae Goff

Magnolia Junior High           Karey Dristas

ALPHA Academy                   Kelly Harsch 

Magnolia High School           Michella Seelye (Secondary Teacher of the Year)

Magnolia West High School   Jennifer Tucker 

2023 Campus Teachers of the Year


Rookie of the Year Nominees: 

Bear Branch Elementary     Kathryn Kaiser 

Ellisor Elementary        Shelley Williams 

Lyon Elementary           Katie Stone 

Magnolia Elementary           Miranda Patterson 

Magnolia Parkway Elementary  Taylor Mathis 

Nichols Sawmill Elementary   Jamie Cantrell 

Smith Elementary       Israel Medina (Elementary Rookie of the Year)

Williams Elementary            Kayleigh Lee 

Bear Branch Intermediate  Carlie Henry 

Magnolia Intermediate        Dejah Strang 

Bear Branch Junior High      Jason Tallent  (Secondary Rookie of the Year)

Magnolia Junior High           Victoria Mock 

Magnolia High School           Zalma Cruz 

Magnolia West High School   Catherine Semmler 


2023 Campus Rookies of the Year

Paraprofessional of the Year Nominees: 

Bear Branch Elementary     Amanda Speck 

Ellisor Elementary       Jackie Martinez

Lyon Elementary           Jeny Trejo 

Magnolia Elementary           Elizabeth Bender 

Magnolia Parkway Elementary Yakelin Moreno 

Nichols Sawmill Elementary   Rainey Westmoreland 

Smith Elementary        Yolanda Rodriguez 

Williams Elementary            Elzy Martinez (Para of the Year)

Bear Branch Intermediate  Irais Hays           

Magnolia Intermediate        Tabitha Trejo 

Bear Branch Junior High       Alexandra Williams 

Magnolia Junior High     Robert Bassett

Magnolia High School            Lisa Gage    

Magnolia West High School  Shawn Collins   

Alpha Academy                     Cynthia Glover